Skip to main content

Home > Knowledge Base > Protection Levels > How are the armoring levels for a vehicle best explained?

How are the armoring levels for a vehicle best explained?

Rounds Size Chart - Ballistic chart

Armormax® installs ballistic armor to protect the passenger compartment in your vehicle. Armor is available at several different protection levels. This protection level is determined by the type of vehicle, how the armored
vehicle is being used, and the perceived threat level. We armor the vehicles to all protection levels based on the international ballistic standards of the National Institute of Justice. The provided armored protection by Armormax® also meets the requirements of German DIN and British Ballistic Standards.

The ballistic threats of bullets mainly depend on the shape, caliber, mass, impact velocity, and
composition of the bullet. These ballistic standards ensure that the armored vehicle meets the essential
requirements to protect against specific threats.

To read more about the different available armor options and specifications, click here.


Author profile image

We love answering your questions and helping you get the best protection possible. For immediate questions and if you want to speak with an expert, please call 1-801-393-1075.

Frequently Asked Questions

B7 protection stops most armor-piercing bullets fired from high-velocity rifles, making it the strongest armoring protection level.

There are eight classifications of armored vehicle protection. These are threat levels ranging from Class I to Class VI.

World leader in the manufacturing and design of armored passenger vehicles